Bukhansan Hike

At the northern border of Seoul lies Bukhan Mountain. My aunt and uncle took us on a hike there. We had thought, “Eh, my aunt and uncle are taking us, how hard could it be?”

It was a 6-hour loop trail with thousands of stairs, ropes to climb, and rocks so steep that they put in rails! It was FUN though. I felt like a kid again jumping over rocks and finding bugs. And I got really good at finding bugs.

The best picture I could find of the both of them. My aunt ended up turning back.

The best picture I could find of the both of them. My aunt ended up turning back a couple hours in.

Let me tell you, hikes in LA are NOT this green! I LOVE it!

Let me tell you, hikes in LA are NOT this green! I LOVE it!

 

These were the first set of stairs we had to hike UP.

These were the first set of stairs we had to hike UP.

 

Shoshana being counterproductive.

Shoshana being counterproductive.

 

The ropes we had to climb to get over this ROCK!

The ropes we had to climb to get over this ROCK!

 

But don't you worry! I barely made it, but I made it!

But don’t you worry! I barely made it, but I made it!

 

IMG_3278

 

 

Up at the very top. The weather was a bit foggy/smoggy, but the rolling hills of Asia was still a sight to see.

Up at the very top. The weather was a bit foggy/smoggy, but the rolling hills of Asia was still a sight to see.

 

IMG_3270

 

 

We had an elaborate lunch packed for us by my aunt. It included mini ice packs for the mini-coolers!

We had an elaborate lunch packed for us by my aunt. It included mini ice packs for the mini-coolers!

 

For the next couple of hours, we walked alongside the top ridge of the mountain to the other side where we would head back down. The view was incredible from so many points!

IMG_3243

 

 

IMG_3337

 

 

IMG_3345

 

 

Don't ever underestimate the strength of Korean ahjummas.

Don’t ever underestimate the strength of Korean ahjummas.


Along the way there was also this temple full of… more stairs.

IMG_3361

IMG_3369

And to finish off this post, a picture of all my new friends!!

IMG_3383

i3AYu5DVuKoqusZwXapgLkDk3bvzstOObG6w2_uOYRg

Caterpillar on a stick. Goal, accomplished!

Leave a Reply

