A Book to Cry Over

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers

Next up in my order of posts is Cambodia! But before I continue, a pause for it’s history…

I bawled my eyes out til 4 in the morning reading this book. I think I grabbed all 3 Cambodians I knew to talk about it and to yell at them, “These are your peeeeople!” I didn’t even know two of them that well. I also tried to convince everyone I traveled with to read it with me. I think I just needed a soul comfort blanket to cover that hollow feeling…

We never got a chance to visit the Killing Fields in Cambodia. Kind of glad we didn’t. Kind of wish we did.

So a little defense for some criticisms she received regarding this book because the story happened when she was 5 years old. All I gotta say is, there are a very few people in this world who can understand how much true trauma remains in the memory of a 5-9 year old. And even if she did fill in a few gaps on the way or insert some understanding she received in hindsight, it’s HER story to be told.

That is all. My two cents.

Leave a Reply

